Basic Buddhist Teachings You Should Know

Buddhism is a wonderful system that you can learn by knowing about the teachings of the Buddha. If you think it would be difficult for you, it can actually be easy when you start by knowing the basic Buddhist teachings. It can help you to understand the core beliefs of Buddhism, thus guiding you towards learning more stuff later on.

What are the Basic Buddhist Teachings You Should Learn?

For you to start learning about Buddhism here are some of the basic teachings that you should take note:

  • The Four Noble Truths

The Four Noble Truth is all about accepting the reality of dukkha or sufferings, and knowing how you should deal with it.  It tells you how to experience dukkha, knowing its causes, and eventually freeing yourself from it.

  • The Noble Eightfold Path

If you have heard about the Eight Golden Rules of Buddhism, this is the actual term of it. These are the Noble Eightfold Path, or the act of goodness that you should do as you live. This can lead you to the liberation from dukkha, and for you to bring out the seed of goodness or “Buddha” lying within you.

  • The Triple Gems

The Triple Gems are your three fortress or refuge to help you keep yourself on the right path. These are the “Buddha” or the innate goodness within you, the “Dharma” or the path and teachings of Buddha, and the “Sangha” or the community of Buddhist worldwide. If you will observe, this is your guide to free yourself from dukkha, and understand more about the true nature of life.

Those are just three of the basic Buddhist teachings you should know as you start on your path. You still need to know more about some of the other fundamental teachings, for you to understand the teachings of the Buddha even more.